An award of £10,000 will be presented to a first-time prose writer whose submission demonstrates outstanding literary talent and who would benefit financial support to complete their work.

  • Submissions should take the form of 20-30,000 words of a work in progress, fiction or non-fiction, which is not under option or contract.
  • Applicants may not be under contract to any publisher for any work or title.
  • Applications are only open to writers who have not previously published or self-published a full length book of their own prose writing (with the exception of a collection of poetry).
  • Entrants must write in the English language and reside within the British Commonwealth and Eire.

Submissions should be accompanied by a brief synopsis and a short biographical note. Applicants who submitted work for the 2016 Writers’ Award may re-apply but the work submitted must be new. Submissions for the 2018 Writers’ Award will open on 1st October 2017 and close on the 13th December 2017.   If your submission is on the longlist you will be notified in March.   The shortlist will be announced in late April.  The winner of the Award will be announced in London in mid-May at an event to which the three shortlisted authors will be invited.  The panel of judges for the 2018 award consists of Anne Enright (Chair), Jenny Uglow and Pete Hobbs.


Further essential information about the award can be found on the Deborah Rogers Foundation website