The Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize is an international book prize that supports and celebrates the best adventure writing today.

First awarded in 2016, the Prize presents awards in three categories: Best Published Novel, Best Unpublished Manuscript and Author of Tomorrow (age 21 and under). The Prize is open to writers of any nationality, writing in English.
Best Unpublished Manuscript | Prize: a publishing deal with Bonnier Books UK, with a writer’s advance of £15,000

The prize is for adventure fiction. Novels must be 50,000+ words in length, although the ideal length is 75,000+. Authors must not be represented by a literary agent or previously have had a novel published. Self-published books are eligible. Deadline 1st March.

The award for the Best Published Novel is also open for entries and the Author of Tomorrow, our short story award from writers aged 21 and under, will open 4th March 2019.

Full details regarding criteria and eligibility can be found here. More information regarding dates and entry submission can be found here.