The publishers of The Moth, Rebecca O’Connor and Will Govan, are delighted to introduce the newly named The Moth Poetry Prize (formerly the Ballymaloe International Poetry Prize). Now in its seventh year, it continues to offer one of the most lucrative awards in the world for a single unpublished poem.

This year’s judge is Daljit Nagra. Nagra was the first poet to win the Forward Prize for both his first collection of poetry and its title poem. He recently published his third collection of poetry with Faber, British Museum, and teaches poetry at Brunel University London and is Poet in Residence for BBC Radio 4.

The prize is open to anyone over the age of 16 who is submitting previously unpublished work. Poems can be on any subject and there is no line limit.

Closing date: 31st December 2017

Further essential information including full prize and submission details can be found on the Moth poetry prize website